How to delete your Facebook account in 2021

How to delete your Facebook account in 2021

Dominic Roberts
Hello, my name is Dominic Roberts and welcome to my blog! When I am not busy creating YouTube videos from my parent's basement, I enjoy keeping active by running and cycling, writing articles, hanging out with family and friends, and travelling across the world to explore new places and cultures.

Today I have made one of the best life decisions ever. After 13 years, I have finally deleted my Facebook account permanently. My only big regret is that I should have done it sooner! I have now reclaimed my free time back to do more important and productive things and I have way more control over my life, and it only took a few minutes and ten clicks! I would now like to help others delete their Facebook accounts and experience the same benefits as I have. This step-by-step guide below will show you how to delete your Facebook account in 2021 within a few minutes.

1. Go to settings

Click on the drop-down menu in the top right corner. Select “Settings & privacy” and then select “Settings”.

space

2. Select deactivation and deletion

Under “Settings”, select “Your Facebook information” and then select “Deactivation and deletion”.

3. Select delete account

You have the option to either deactivate or delete your Facebook account. To delete your Facebook account, select “Delete account” and then select “Continue to account deletion”.

4. Options before you continue with deletion

Before continuing with the deletion of your Facebook account, you are given three options. If you want to keep Facebook Messenger, you will need to deactivate your account instead. You can also download your Facebook content and information in HTML format before deletion, such as photos, videos, and posts, and you can also manage any existing apps. To continue with deletion, select “Delete Account”.

5. Enter your password

Confirm that the Facebook account belongs to you by entering your password, then select “Continue”.

6. Confirm permanent account deletion

Facebook will remind you that you have 30 days to reactivate your account and cancel the deletion. After 30 days, the deletion process will begin and you won’t be able to retrieve any of the content or information you’ve added. To continue with deletion, select “Delete Account”.

7. Bon voyage Facebook!

That’s it! Your Facebook account is now scheduled for permanent deletion after 30 days. You should receive an email from Facebook shortly to confirm this. If you log in to Facebook within the next 30 days, you will have the option to cancel the deletion and retrieve any of the content or information you’ve added to your account.

8. Get #DeleteFacebook trending

Let everyone know that you have deleted your Facebook account with the hashtag #DeleteFacebook, get it trending, and let’s help others to make the best decision ever as well!

Featured image by rvlsoft and used under the standard license.